alert

About the ‘Trust This Computer’ alert on your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch

Learn about trusted computers and find out how to change your settings.

What the trust settings on your device mean

When you connect your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch to a computer or other device for the first time, an alert asks whether you trust the computer:

  • Trusted computers can sync with your device, create backups, and access your device’s photos, videos, contacts, and other content. These computers remain trusted unless you change which computers you trust or erase your device.
  • If you choose not to trust a computer, you block its access to content on your device. You’ll see the trust alert every time that you connect your device to that computer.

Choose whether to trust a computer

  1. Connect your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch to your computer or another device.
  2. Enter your passcode, if you have one, to unlock your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch.
  3. If you want
Read More